Mardi Gras, one of the biggest parties of the year, is in full swing at Universal Orlando this month, with parades, street parties and concerts happening each Saturday night through April 14, 2012.

What you need to know before you go:

Time: Universal Orlando’s Mardi Gras parties run each Saturday night through April 14; there are a few Friday night parties as well. The fun begins early each evening, and continues into the wee hours like any great party should.

Performers: Each Mardi Gras evening features a different concert event. Performers for 2012 include the B-52’s, K.C. and the Sunshine Band and Cyndi Lauper, dates are listed below:

Saturday, February 11 – The B-52s
Saturday, February 18 – Kelly Clarkson
Sunday, February 19 – Boyz II Men
Saturday, February 25 – Diana Ross
Saturday, March 3 – TBA
Saturday, March 10 – Big Time Rush
Friday, March 16 – J. Cole
Saturday, March 17 – Jill Scott
Friday, March 23 – Hot Chelle Rae
Saturday, March 24 – B.o.B
Friday, March 30 – Plain White T’s
Saturday, March 31 – Prince Royce
Saturday, April 7 – Cyndi Lauper
Saturday, April 14 – KC & the Sunshine Band

Mardi Gras Entertainment: In addition to the concert series, you’ll be able to enjoy authentic New Orleans music in the French Quarter, see a festive Mardi Gras parade each evening and sample a variety of Big Easy inspired cuisine.

Ticket Information: Admission to the Mardi Gras event is free with your theme park admission. Your theme park ticket also entitles you to admission to 7 of the CityWalk clubs for a fun, adults only after party on Mardi Gras nights.

Who can go: Mardi Gras is open to all members of the family, though older kids and adults will get the most from the street party atmosphere and concert series. While the party may not be designed for little ones, the atmosphere is fun and festive, and not at all scary.

By Samantha McNesby for Orlando Vacation